Something Completely Different!

I’ve gone over to the light side!  I have two three book contracts from Penguin (one for Obsidian and one for Berkeley Prime Crime) to write a cozy series. This is a big step for me, and something very different for my readers.  I am having a lot of fun with these books and I hope my regular readers will also.  The first series is the Lighthouse Library Series, set in a library in a lighthouse on the Outer Banks of North Carolina.  I am writing this series under the pen name of Eva Gates.

The first book in the series, By Book or By Crook, was released on February 3, 2015. Booked for Trouble will be out Sept 1, 2015, and Reading up a Storm, in April 2016.

By Book or By  Crook, by Eva Gates

By Book or By Crook, by Eva Gates

Here’s a peek at By Book or By Crook:

For ten years Lucy has enjoyed her job poring over rare tomes of literature for the Harvard Library, but she has not enjoyed the demands of her family’s social whorl or her sort-of-engagement to the staid son of her father’s law partner. But when her ten-year relationship implodes, Lucy realizes that the plot of her life is in need of a serious rewrite.

 Calling on her aunt Ellen, Lucy hopes that a little fun in the Outer Banks sun—and some confections from her cousin Josie’s bakery—will help clear her head. But her retreat quickly turns into an unexpected opportunity when Aunt Ellen gets her involved in the lighthouse library tucked away on Bodie Island.
Lucy is thrilled to land a librarian job in her favorite place in the world. But when a priceless first edition Jane Austen novel is stolen and the chair of the library board is murdered, Lucy suddenly finds herself ensnared in a real-life mystery—and she’s not so sure there’s going to be a happy ending….

By Book or By Crook is now available in mass-market and e-book formats at your favourite bookstore or AMAZON.COM  AMAZON.CA  Chapters/Indigo B&N.COM INDIEBOUND.ORG

Eva Gates has her own web page:  Check it out for updates on the book and some great pictures of the Outer Banks.

P.S. If you are wondering, I haven’t given up Molly Smith and John Winters and Trafalgar, B.C. They will be back in February 2016 with Unreasonable Doubt!


Under Cold Stone

Under Cold Stone, is the seventh book in the Constable Molly Smith series from Poisoned Pen Press.


A couple’s weekend getaway to the Rocky Mountains. A Scottish-inspired castle of carved stone, imposing turrets, liveried bellhops, and panoramic views. Perched on the verge of one of the world’s greatest wildernesses.

They’re an unlikely couple: Lucky Smith, passionate environmentalist, old-time hippy; Paul Keller Chief Constable of Trafalgar, British Columbia. This vacation is a chance to explore their fledging late-in-life relationship, to indulge themselves at the famous Banff Springs Hotel.

Trouble interferes when Lucky, strong-willed and sometimes too stubborn for her own good, stands up to two bullies in the local coffee shop. To his horror Paul recognizes one of the young men as his estranged son, Matt.

In the early hours of the following morning, a frantic Matt calls his father for help.  Lucky and Paul arrive to find a body on the apartment floor, but Matt has gone.

Matt Keller is an experienced wilderness adventurer. All signs indicate that he’s escaped into the backcountry.  To RCMP Sergeant Eddie Blechta, running is all the proof of guilt he needs.  Paul Keller  can do nothing but watch the investigation from a distance, terrified that Blechta is right.

Lucky’s daughter, Constable Molly Smith of the Trafalgar City Police, abandons her chaotic Thanksgiving kitchen to offer her mom support. She has no intention of meddling in the police investigation, but when Matt’s sad, shy girlfriend, Tracey, asks for her help, Molly Smith finds herself not only interfering but putting herself on the wrong side of Edward Blechta.

And Molly Smith is as good in the wilderness as Matt Keller.

You can find UNDER COLD STONE at your favourite independent bookstore, or at,, B& or